It all began in the fall of 1950 when more than 100 families adopted a charter,
organized a Board of Trustees and a Religious School and held services
at the Masonic Temple in Bayside. Isaiah Zeidin became our first rabbi.
In 1953 we acquired the property on Northern Blvd. for our permanent synagogue,
and Rabbi Herschel Levin became our rabbi when Isaiah Zeidin left to become
the director of the UAHC’s West Coast Reform congregations. We later expanded
our building, and in 1964 it was officially dedicated.
In 1957 Robert Abelson was elected our first full-time Cantor. In 1971 we engaged Cantor Hilda Abrevaya, the first woman Cantor in US. 1978 sadly marked the passing of Rabbi Herschel Levin and Rabbi Bruce Goldwasser was installed as his successor. 1978 also marked the year when we adopted the “Gates of Prayer” as our prayer book.
We celebrated our 50th anniversary in the year 2000 with three days of special services, a gala dinner party with professional entertainment, and the publication of a special booklet adorned with our Temple’s anniversary logo. In 2004 Sandra Goodman was installed as our Cantor.
Rabbi Bruce Goldwasser retired in 2009 after 31 years of service at Temple Beth Sholom. We engaged Rabbi Sharon Ballan as our new rabbi.
Countless families have worshipped and brought up their children at Temple Beth Sholom. We have become a vibrant part of the tapestry that forms the Jewish community and the multi-cultural entity of Northeastern Queens.